Home / Research Council

IHO Research Council and Executive Board

A Model for Public/Private Partnership

The Institute of Human Origins is a model for a strong public/private partnership between ASU and the IHO Research Council. That partnership is key to our success and a critical aspect of our long-term vision.

The IHO Research Council comprises individuals from business, education, and scientific communities who provide strategic guidance and financial support for operations, research, and outreach and, through its broad network, provides an outlet for IHO’s diverse public programs.

The Research Council is led by an Executive Board, which plays a vital role in strategic planning, development, and financial oversight.

For more information on how to join the search for human origins through the Research Council, contact

Yohannes Haile-Selassie, Director, Institute of Human Origins

IHO Research Council 2021–2022

* indicates member of Executive Board

Alexander Barbanell*New York, New York
Charles BrickmanScottsdale, Arizona
Geoff Clark PhDTempe, Arizona
Russel CookWashington, North Carolina
Colleen Cookson*Phoenix, Arizona
Robert Cookson*Phoenix, Arizona
Jack DaultonLos Altos Hills, California
David Deniger*Dallas, Texas
Martin DobelleNew York, New York
Molly DobelleNew York, New York
John Ellerman*Paradise Valley, Arizona
Alejandra M. Escandon*Mexico City, Mexico
Josh FriedmanMiami, Florida
Jay Greene*St. Helena, California
Yohannes Haile-Selassie PhD*Chandler, Arizona
Thomas F. Hill* (Founding Chairman)  New York, New York
Roz HoLos Altos Hills, California
Donald C. Johanson PhD*   San Francisco, California
Thomas P. Jones III* Berkeley, California
Patrick Kenney PhD* (ex-officioTempe, Arizona
Bobby Ellen Kimbel PhDPhiladelphia, Pennsylvania
William H. Kimbel PhD*Phoenix, Arizona
Mary Jo LeventhalSeattle, Washington
Ross Leventhal*  Seattle, Washington
Curtis W. Marean PhD*Mesa, Arizona
Carolyn Lee (Susie) MarstonParadise Valley, Arizona
George Mehler PhD*Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Candice MillardOverland Park, Kansas
Rand MorimotoAlamo, California
Gerry OhrstromNew York, New York
Harry A. Papp* (Treasurer)Phoenix, Arizona
Arthur L. Pearce IIScottsdale, Arizona
Linda PiercePlaya del Rey, California
Cornel RaabCrown Point, IN
Karen Raab*Crown Point, IN
Kaye E. Reed PhD* (ex-officio)Tempe, Arizona
Elaine ReissNew York, New York
Herb Roskind* Scottsdale, Arizona
Laura Roskind*Scottsdale, Arizona
Janet D. Sands*  Flagstaff, Arizona
Edgar L. Sands*Flagstaff, Arizona
Peter Saucier* Baltimore, Maryland
Carol Saucier*  Baltimore, Maryland
Bruce W. Schnitzer* (Chairman)New York, New York
Ridge Smidt  Encinitas, California
Christopher Stojanowski PhD* (ex-officio)Tempe, Arizona
Ian Tattersall PhD*New York, New York
 John Taylor Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
 Rebecca Taylor Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Mark UhligOverland Park, Kansas
Sander van der Leeuw PhD* Phoenix, Arizona